Short Fuse

Today I took the day to work on one of my personal project cars.  It had an electrical issue and I didn’t have the time or will power to work on the car until today.  I replaced the alternator, belt, and battery last fall but the battery wouldn’t hold a charge.  Today I found out why.

20130427_155852The wire from the alternator separated completely from the contact.  It didn’t stop there

20130427_165531The fuse was also broken.  I suspect that this is because the previous owner had upgraded the OEM alternator to a GM 1-wire but I had no idea what the amperage output was when I replaced it.  So now I’m off to buy a new fuse and charge the battery.  Hopefully it’ll start up so I can drive it around a bit.

Earl

Leave a Reply

